Happenings in New York and the Amnesty International Conference…

Fun times exploring New York during spring break!

Fun times exploring New York during spring break with Michaela! I am beguiled by the city. Must make another trip there!

At the Amnesty International Human Rights conference in Brooklyn. What an amazing time we all had!  I really loved how they incorporated ASL into their chant "Justice Now!" I left feeling inspired and motivated. It certainly was an eventful weekend!

Many thanks to Toska Broadway for taking these shots.

What an amazing time we all had at the Amnesty International Human Rights conference in Brooklyn during the spring break! It was a weekend full of surprises. I was not expecting what unfolded. I was asked to take the stage and show the ASL signs for a chant used in the protest to the crowd by an Amnesty staff before the march across the Brooklyn bridge. I really loved how they incorporated ASL into their chant “Justice Now!” and how Deaf awareness was raised. They were totally for inclusion of everyone.

My sincere appreciation and thanks goes to Michaela Hanley for being quick to respond in a time of need and being my voice interpreter when the actual interpreters were not present during the rally due to miscommunication. I learnt so much at the conference. One workshop that I gleaned much from was titled Constructing Our Own Public Narrative: A Storytelling Strategy. The session focused on the art of storytelling, adopting a social justice and human rights framework.

To quote one of the panelists at the conference: “I am not doing anything special. I do the work that I do because it is what I should be doing.” I know and I agree. 🙂 Being an active participant in the conference, convinced me that international development is the right field for me to be in although the nature of the job is very challenging.

I headed back to DC on the bus with my classmates feeling touched, inspired and charged up. It certainly was an eventful weekend and an experience I will not forget for many years to come! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Happenings in New York and the Amnesty International Conference…

  1. Phoebe,

    Totally enjoyed your writeup about your participation at the Amnesty conference in Brooklyn.
    You amazed me with always absorbing everything and taking it with you to ponder your
    future role in the world of “silence”.

    Keep up the spirit!!
    Pam

  2. Thank you Pam for your kind words. Although I must say that Deaf people are not really “silent”. hehe. 😉 We may not be able to hear everything around us but it doesn’t mean our world is silent. Deaf people can be “loud”. I have met many Deaf here at Gallaudet who are very “loud” in advocating for their rights and they make sure they are heard. 😉

Leave a Reply

