Tribute to the CFA firefighters

News update on the fires with access to Auslan interpreters

News update on the fires with access to Auslan interpreters

I’ve been following the news of the bushfires in Victoria in the comfort of my lounge room since yesterday. I am grateful for access to Auslan interpreters on the news. The interpreters have done an excellent job yesterday and today. I’m sure other Deaf people would agree with me. Much to my surprise, suburban Melbourne was affected particularly in Craigieburn and Warrandyte causing some residents to lose their homes. I had always thought that the country areas were more prone to bushfires.

There are a number of fires burning around the state and whenever I watch the news or read the CFA updates it feels as if almost all of Victoria is on fire. As I type this post, I am aware that Kilmore, Morwell, Mickleham as well as a number of other towns are affected. Each time I tune in to the news updates, I find myself growing increasingly anxious and concerned for the situation. I am certain that other fellow Victorians echo the same sentiments.

CFA firefighters battling the flames

CFA firefighters battling the flames

I felt a strong urge to type this post for a reason that should not go unnoticed. The fighting spirit of the CFA firefighters are to be admired greatly as they continue to battle the flames. They must be commended for their bravery and resilience. Hence, this blog post is  a special recognition for their efforts.

My heartfelt condolences and prayers go out to the residents whose properties were destroyed by the fires and to those in areas where the flames that are still raging on.

The good news is that so far if I’m correct, no lives have been lost and I pray it stays that way.

Leave a Reply

