A heart of gratitude

I came home last night feeling very happy. I am eternally grateful to AAV for paying for a taxi to take me to Fitzroy Town Hall so I could present at the launch as I did not feel well enough to drive myself there. I’m glad the dizzy spells went away and I was able to hold up to give my presentation despite my back pain. I feel honoured to be able to present alongside Stephanie Linder and Ross Onley-Zerkel whom I have learnt a lot from. I’m also thankful to a dear friend for dropping me home at the end of the event. How nice to wake up this morning realising that my back pain is a lot less intense than before even though it is still lingering.

Look out for an article “Sounds of Silence produce the write stuff” in The Age today.

My article “The Deaf Writer – Does it exist?” has been published in The Emerging Writer book which was officially launched last night. I feel privileged to have been asked to contribute to the book. People bought the book last night and I believe it will be available for purchase online later on. πŸ™‚ Bye for now! πŸ™‚

TEW-Cover-shot
6 thoughts on “A heart of gratitude

  1. Hi Phoebe, your presentation was great!

    Any ilness/nerves you had weren’t apparent at all. πŸ™‚

    I’m one of your fellow EWF-Book writers (page 102 ‘radio’ if you have the book already)
    and the creator of the big Bio/Links list for the same.
    http://gabemcgrath.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/emerging-writer-book-2013-all-the-writers-all-the-links/

    Not sure if you saw the above – I tried to contact as many of the writers as possible when it went up.

    This Thursday I am launching this:
    http://gabemcgrath.wordpress.com/2013/06/07/the-unofficial-ewf13-book-club

    For 36 days I’m encouraging readers to read 1 of the EWFBook pieces,
    and if they feel inspired, to visit my blogpost that day and discuss it.

    For each post I’ve also invited the writer of that piece to share the thoughts/story
    behind what appears in the book. (details in the link above)

    The posts are in the same order as the book, so you are on Thursday 20/6.

    If you can spare some time to put say 150-250w together
    before then, I’d love to include your thoughts.

    If it’s not doable – no worries!

    • Thanks for the compliment. I will have a read through the link over the next couple of days. Am rushing 2 assignments at the moment. Should be do-able but will let you know. πŸ™‚ have a great week!

  2. Pingback: Day 8: Phoebe Tay | Gabe McGrath

      • Not a problem!

        PS: I tried tweeting your ‘Day 8’ link to a few organisations in Victoria that work with people who are deaf, but didn’t get any response. If you know anyone I should have sent a link to – I’m happy to get any tips.

Leave a Reply

