Cereal

I have a big task to complete in 4 weeks – design a magazine cover, a single inside page and a double page spread including a feature story of 1500 words to accompany the layout of photos. To do this, I need to use Adobe Indesign or iBooks Author.

After meeting a friend in the city this afternoon, I headed to the “Magnation” store on Elizabeth street to research various magazines for their layout and design features. I had a ball looking through their countless magazines on display for 2 hours. I know I could have stayed there all day. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I browsed through all the sections but took a particular interest in the food and travel magazines as I already had it in mind that my assignment was going to be based on some foodie idea. I scanned and skimmed through several magazines in that category – Gourmet Traveller, Cereal, Lucky Peach,Sumptuous, New Orleans Saveur, and Women’s Weekly, to name a few. However, one magazine specifically stood out to me. That is…

Image

Image

Image

Ah, a new publication. The copy I held in my hands was Volume 2. Instead of merely flipping the pages quickly like I did most other travel and food magazines that just had the usual contents on recipes, places of interest, resorts, etc…, I found myself actually devouring its contents and completely absorbed. The articles all had a depth and authenticity to it, which other magazines in that category generally lacked. I enjoyed reading about “The History of Pepper” and the stories that focused on Korean language, food and sights which were evidently well-researched and insightful. The images were distinctly laid out on the page and had a simple yet striking feel to it. The cover appealed to me because unlike other magazines, it was not glossy and not cluttered with texts and images that can be distracting. The simplicity of the layout of the calm ocean put my mind in a relaxed state for reading and concentration. I thought to myself while reading: “This is good stuff.”

Life is simple, as it is. This magazine reflects that. As a person who craves the depths meaning that I tend to think deeply, feel deeply about things and seek deeper relationships with important people in my life, I found myself connecting with this food and travel journal because it clearly reflects my personality. Kudos to editor, Rosa Park, for starting this publication. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m not a regular subscriber to magazines of any sort except for the “Victorian Writer” which I receive in my mailbox every month. The only time I ever pick them up is at the library, newsagents or the doctor’s with plenty of time to kill.

Have I found a magazine I can truly connect with?

Have I found a magazine I wish to purchase and religiously follow?

Have I found a magazine to base my design and layout for my university assessment?

Yes, I believe I have. ๐Ÿ™‚

Check out the Cereal website for more info.

To read comments on the magazine in the press click on these links:

Broadsheet article: Cereal Magazine Volume 2

A conversation with Rosa Park

4 thoughts on “Cereal

  1. After exploring a few of the articles on your web site, I honestly like your
    technique of blogging. I added it to my bookmark webpage
    list and will be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my web site as well
    and tell me your opinion.

    • Oh thank you for your comments. Thanks for sharing your website. Your blog is interesting but it would be easier to read if each article had paragraphs?

Leave a Reply

