The greatest gift of all…

One of the best feelings in the world is waking up every morning knowing that it’s the holidays. The feeling of not needing to rush anywhere or worry about things that need to be done, is pure bliss. Especially, because the last few months leading to the summer break have been such a flurry of activity leaving me with little time to reflect and to simply find quality rest.

Since I’ve been back in my home country, I’ve been hanging out a lot with my family. In between that are periods of time where I’ve been allowing myself to get lost in a book – a book I read way back in my teen years which I love – The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. Oh such luxury!

the-chronicles-of-narnia

It is thrilling to revisit a book I read in my formative years and to see it in a new light. 🙂 The adventures, characters and the plot continue to captivate my heart. I’m nearly halfway through the book and I aim to complete it by the end of this week in between catch-ups with friends, outings with family and other appointments.

Perhaps, somewhere down the road, I’ll write my own series of novels.

Someday. 😉

On a different note, I wish to share a quote that came up on The Writer’s Studio’s Facebook page which really struck me:

“Christmas reminds us of the importance of giving. To succeed as a writer you need to give of yourself.

As Anne Lamott said in her book Bird by Bird, “You are going to have to give and give and give, or there is no reason for you to be writing. You have to give from the deepest part of yourself, and you are going to have to go on giving, and the giving is going to have its own reward. There is no cosmic importance to your getting something published, but there is in learning to be a giver.

Your story is your story, but ultimately it should be a gift to someone else, your readers.”

~ From The Writer’s Studio

These words really resonated within me when I read it. Writing does require me to give of myself and to be who I am as a person – the boldness to be authentic. It is in the giving which is so deeply rich and rewarding. I admire many authors who give of themselves in their writings because their stories are certainly wonderful presents to their readers. In saying this, I believe the best writer of all is God himself who gave us Jesus Christ “the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God” (Hebrews 12: 1-3).

If you recall my first blog post Craft your world with words where I shared how one speaker impacted me “when he opened his speech with the gospel of John 1:1 “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was God”. I learnt that God Himself is the ultimate author. The greatest book is the Bible because it offers the promise of hope and new life to all who believe. It is the greatest gift I’ve received. 🙂

As a writer, it is my hope and prayer that whatever stories I write, will be a gift to my readers. 😉

May Joy be your gift at Christmas
and may Faith, Hope and Love
be your treasures in the New Year.

~ Anonymous

Leave a Reply

